THE MODERN DAY KEATS

Discussion on the works of John Keats.

Moderators: Saturn, Malia

THE MODERN DAY KEATS

Postby Matt » Fri Jun 11, 2004 3:44 pm

You may argue that there is no one like Keats but which modern day British Icon is most similar to the Romantic, passionate, tragic Keats? They dont have to be a poet. They can be anyone. Let me know what u think!

Merci Be Coup as the fabulous Lionel Blair once wrote

Matt
Matt

What do you mean by the new Keats?

Postby Saturn » Sat Jun 12, 2004 10:22 pm

These kind of questions are always impossible to answer as I'm not really sure what you mean by the modern-day Keats.

It really depends which Keats you are talking about.

Is it the Keats of today's reputation - unknown by most of the population (except academics and poetry fans like ourselves), or the man of his own time - who was beloved of a small group of friends and family, but depised by most of the snobby literary establishment for his background and self-taught genius.

Does your question ask for someone of a similar profile today?
Do you mean someone who died tragically young at the age of twenty-five?

The two time periods and social distinctions are completely different.

Poetry's place has been usurped by the upstart that is popular music, and literature is seen as dull and boring stuff by most young people.

Contrast this with the attitude of the early nineteenth century people to literature and the arts. This was at this time a highly priveleged pastime for gentlemen of leisure (aristos or monied people), then as today, writers were seen as dreamers - people who don't do 'real' work.

We can not really compare the esteem that the arts were held in two hundred years ago with today's pluralist, populist cultural landscape.

Then books were still prohibitively expensive; today anyone can pick up a cheap paperback.

You may be thinking of Keats as if he could a modern rock-star - no comparison could be more ill-judged.