Total Beginner!

Discussion on the works of John Keats.

Moderators: Saturn, Malia

Total Beginner!

Postby AndyC » Sat Dec 07, 2002 12:19 am

Hello

I am totally new to John Keats and to poetry. However, I am quite interested in learning due to recently reading one of his poems, (not sure which one).

I am actually looking for help as the something that I could read to learn more, I do not want to just read the poems themselves and would like a bit of background knowledge and explanations aswell.

So if anybody can help me, please do!

Thank you
AndyC
AndyC

RE: Absolute Beginner!

Postby Endymion » Tue Dec 10, 2002 2:58 pm

Hi AndyC,

The best introduction I can think of is a short biography - Andrew Motion's highly regarded biog is probably a little more than you want at this stage, but I'm sure a quick search on Amazon will yeild some results.

Try this too: Amazon have a VHS tape entitled "Famous Authors - John Keats" which features some poetry readings and a profile. I've not got this one myself yet, but it looks like a good starting point.

To understand the poems a little more try something like York Advanced Notes, there's a great deal to help you understand the thinking behind the poems and put them in their context.

Hope this helps!
"He Stood in His Shoes and he Wondered
He Wondered
He Stood in his Shoes and He Wondered."
Endymion

Thank you endyminion

Postby AndyC » Tue Dec 10, 2002 9:58 pm

Thank you Endyminion,

I have recently ordered "John Keats(Analysing Texts)" by John Blades this has half the number of pages that the Andrew Motion book has and promises to give a good background of Keats and his work.

Hopefully this will help me to gain a better grasp of who Keats is and to appreciate his poems fully.

Thank you again

Andy C

:D
AndyC

Sorry Endymion

Postby AndyC » Tue Dec 10, 2002 9:59 pm

Sorry Endymion for spelling your name wrong!
AndyC

to beginner

Postby derek » Thu Dec 12, 2002 6:06 am