Need your help on "when i have fears..."

Discussion on the works of John Keats.

Moderators: Saturn, Malia

Need your help on "when i have fears..."

Postby ifif1026 » Thu Dec 09, 2004 9:38 am

:oops: i'm a student from Taiwan and need some help.

in "when i have fears that i may cease to be"
1. does "cease to be" mean "die"?
2. why speaker has fears before "high piled books"?
3. what is the "magic hand of chance"?
4. what is "fair creature of an hour"?

I've started to learn poems for a very short time and hope you can give me some help, thanks :o
ifif1026

Postby Saturn » Thu Dec 09, 2004 11:12 am

I posted this before, a good while ago, but I hope it answers some of your questions.

Remember though, it's only a personal interpretation of the poem.

As with so many of Keats' poems, this one is primarily concerned with fears of inadequacy and mortality; also with the possibility that he might die without fulfilling his poetic and personal ambitions.

It was written in January 1818, and with this poem he began to abandon the Petrarchian sonnet scheme and employ instead the Shakespearean model. Here is my own simplified interpretation of the poem.

In it he tells us that his imagination is extremely fruitful, and that he fears that he will cease to be before he has unloaded this great fecundity of thought in 'high-piled books'; that he will be like the unripened grain, and wither into uselessness, without bearing the expected crop.

He observes the natural world and his imagination burns to describe in words all he sees. We also sense Keats' view that poetry is to some degree a matter of 'the magic hand of chance', that if poetry did not appear spontaneously, impulsively, it had better not come at all.