Keat's Philosophy

Discussion on the works of John Keats.

Moderators: Saturn, Malia

Keat's Philosophy

Postby Guest » Wed Apr 16, 2003 3:07 pm

Hello, I'm studying Keats for A-Level, just wondering if anyone can help with a few confusions I have? :mrgreen:

Mainly it's about Keat's philosophy. He states that
"Beauty is truth, truth beauty - that is all
Ye know on earth and all ye need to know"
What does this mean? I've looked at it lots, and still can't fully understand what he means!

Negative capability has something to do with Keat's philosophy too - shown in La Belle Dame sans Merci. Can someone explain this concept?

Also, in Lamia, the philosopher is seen as the bad guy, who reveals too much, brings people down to Earth, as it were, and evetually destroys the imagination: i.e. Lamia. Dows Keats reject philosophy because it disregards negative capability?

Hope someone can help me with this confusing poet!

JK's philosophy

Postby Despondence » Sun Apr 20, 2003 12:38 pm

I've been meaning to put together a post about Keats' philosophy for some time, but it's not an easy topic... I can get you started on some of the points, if not aswering your questions in full.

"Negative capability" is mentioned (first?) in a letter to Tom and George, 21 December 1817, and he cites it as a necessary quality that goes into the forming of a "Man of Achievement" - in this context, of course the Poet. The way I read it, JK sees a positive quality in the ability to be comfortable with mysteries and doubts; to be able to move within uncertainties without always striving for undisputable fact. The quest for reason has no place within poetry, and while a noble pursuit for some men, it does not behoove the poet to even try; in fact, with a great poet, "...the sense of Beauty overcomes every other consideration, or rather obliterates all consideration."