Best collection of Letters by Keats

The life of John Keats the man: his family, his friends, and his contemporaries.

Moderators: Saturn, Malia

Best collection of Letters by Keats

Postby Realmsofcopper » Fri Nov 10, 2006 9:12 pm

Hello, fellow Keats admirers, I have just found this forum and have joined it.

What a terrific forum! I wish I had known about it before.

I wonder if I could ask for some ideas from you about the best book of collected letters of John Keats. I'm really looking just for the letters, not a book containing the letters and poetry -- since I already have a lot of the poetry.

The striking thing about Keats, for me, is how colloquial and "slang-y" he could sometimes be in his letters. When I was an undergraduate, Keats was presented as this ethereal being who Wrote Great Poetry (caps intended), to whom we were to bow down and solemnly worship.

As I read portions of some of his letters now, I see how funny, sharp, lively, smart, goofy, tender, and sometimes bawdy he could be. I love that. The man who wrote the best poetry also wrote some great letters -- he was a fully realized human being. (I really enjoy Virginia Woolf's letters for the same reason.)

Could I ask for suggestions about what might be the best collection of his letters out there? Is there a book or some other medium which includes all his letters? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks you so much!
Realmsofcopper

Postby Malia » Fri Nov 10, 2006 9:23 pm