Who are the people that Keats writes to?

The life of John Keats the man: his family, his friends, and his contemporaries.

Moderators: Saturn, Malia

Who are the people that Keats writes to?

Postby alana16 » Wed Nov 05, 2003 8:21 pm

Hello, I'm Alana and i am currently a student at college doing my AS levels. I am doing John Keats for my poetry section and i have been asked to read a selection of letters written by Keats for my homework. Problem is i dont know who the following people are: :? :oops:
Jane Reynolds, Benjamin Robert Haydon, Benjamin Bailey, John Taylor, and Richard Woodhouse.
I need to know as soon as possible so if anyone is willing to help please let me know and i will be very grateful.
Thank you :D
alana16

People Keats wrote to

Postby Oliver » Thu Nov 06, 2003 12:16 am

JOHN Hamilton Reynolds (1794-1852) was a very close friend who introduced him to many people in literary London. He convinced him not to publish the first preface to Endymion. Himself a poet, he became a lawyer.

Benjamin Bailey (1791-1853) was an early friend. He invited Keats to stay with him at Oxford. He seems to have been a bit pompous. He became a parson, and Keats' friendship with him cooled.

Benjamin Robert Haydon (1786-1846) was another early friend, a painter. Keats met him through Leigh Hunt, the poet and journalist. Haydon was a great enthusiast of the Elgin Marbles. He painted very large historical canvasses. Keats broke with him too, after learning of his quarrels with others of his friends and when Haydon did not repay a loan. Haydon killed himself in 1846.

Richard Woodhouse (1788-1834) was a devoted friend, a lawyer who collected Keats' letters and manuscripts.

John Taylor (1781-1864) with James Augustus Hessey, was Keats' publisher. He helped raise funds to get him to Rome.
Oliver

Thank you

Postby alana16 » Sat Nov 08, 2003 5:34 pm