Best Keats Biography?

The life of John Keats the man: his family, his friends, and his contemporaries.

Moderators: Saturn, Malia

Best Keats Biography?

Postby BrightStar » Wed Nov 17, 2004 3:57 am

I just ordered the Andrew Motion biography of Keats and am impatiently awaiting its arrival, though I've heard (don't know how reliable my source is) that there is some erroneous information in it. I was also wondering what other bios you all had read and what you recommend or don't recommend. I've read some interesting things online already and am looking for actual books (though as a grad student I won't have time to read them until Christmas. :( ). Thanks!
Melissa
BrightStar

Postby Junkets » Wed Nov 17, 2004 9:57 am

Of the three I've read the best by far was the Robert Gittings biography. The Motion biography was not that great, but my opinion I think was marred by the fact that I don't like Andrew Motion and set out determined not to like his biography. I can't remember who the other one was by, erm...was it Harold Bloom, or someone by the name of Bates...Oh well, I can't remember.
Junkets

Postby Saturn » Wed Nov 17, 2004 11:33 am

It was Jonathan Bate, published the same year as Gittings' one (1968).

I love the Gittings one as it was the first one I read, but there's nothing wrong with Andrew Motions' one - it actually gives a lot of interesting 'afterwords' about Keats' brother George and sister Fanny and of Course Fanny Brawne.
The photos and reproductions of letters and drafts of poems are worth buying it for in any case.

I don't know anything much about Andrew Motion apart from hearing some of his bad poetry - this man is supposed to be poet-laureate!!
I have no particualr prejudice against him, as he is an excellent writer and biographer, just not much of a poet.
"Oh what a misery it is to have an intellect in splints".
Saturn
Forum Administrator

Postby Junkets » Wed Nov 17, 2004 4:27 pm

I thank you. Jonathan Bate it was.
Junkets

re: