Date of Letter Question

The life of John Keats the man: his family, his friends, and his contemporaries.

Moderators: Saturn, Malia

Date of Letter Question

Postby tja444 » Sun Oct 11, 2009 7:07 pm

Hello to all.

I am relatively new to the poetic romances of John Keats. I have a question regarding one of his letters to Fanny Brawne. Here is an excerpt from the letter:

". . .I love you; all I can bring you is a swooning admiration of your Beauty. . . . You absorb me in spite of myself--you alone: for I look not forward with any pleasure to what is call'd being settled in the world; I tremble at domestic cares--yet for you I would meet them, though if it would leave you the happier I would rather die than do so."

I've seen this letter on various John Keats/Poetry websites, some with a date of May 3, 1818, and others (including John-Keats.com) with a date of July 25, 1819. I would think May 3, 1818 too early in their relationship for such a letter, but it is still confusing. Here is a comment from one such website:

"Keats wrote "Bright Star" in 1819 and revised it in 1820, perhaps on the (final) voyage to Italy. Friends and his doctor had urged him to try a common treatment for tuberculosis, a trip to Italy; however, Keats was aware that he was dying. Some critics have theorized that this poem was addressed to his fiance, Fanny Brawne, and connect the poem to his May 3, 1818 letter to her." http://academic.brooklyn.cuny.edu/engli ... /star.html

Can someone please clarify this matter? I know there is a May 3, 1818 letter to John Hamilton Reynolds, but was there also a letter to Fanny? Without knowing, I would think not. The July 25, 1819 date seems more reasonable (to my senses).
tja444

Re: Date of Letter Question

Postby Malia » Sun Oct 11, 2009 11:24 pm

Hi tja444,