A short movie about an event of the life of John Keats

Events that are related to Keats, lectures, new publications. Also your Photos of Keats-related locations, events etc.

Moderators: Saturn, Malia

A short movie about an event of the life of John Keats

Postby Stephen Durden » Mon Feb 10, 2003 11:10 pm

Hello everybody,

my name is Stephen and I'm a director from Italy, who is up to start a small indipendent film production company called Solitarytree Films.

I would like to bring on the big screen a specific event of the life of John Keats: I would like to film a short movie about his decision to leave Fanny Browne (I hope I didn't mispelled her name) in order to continue with poetry.

Is anyone willing to help me in some researches? I want to make this short film, and I want to do it as best as I can.

Thanks in advance.
Stephen

P.S. Sorry for the mistakes, I'm still learning English :)
Stephen Durden

Postby Endymion » Wed Feb 12, 2003 12:14 am

Hi Stephen I admire your efforts to bring this subject and make it into a film, I think it's got potential to be very interesting.

Have a look at the biography up there on the left, it'll give you more of an insight that you'll benefit from.

Actually, Keats wrote very little poetry after he left Fanny, he was really suffering from tuberculosis and had to be cared for night and day by Joseph Severn, his companion on the journey to Italy.

I cannot quite understand Keats's determination not to write to Fanny after they parted - wouldn't it have eased his burden to speak to her, and he must have been heartbroken to leave her almost knowing he'd never see her again. Or was he doing it for her benefit? Thinking that by not contacting her by letter he was easing the burden of loss for her?

Hope this helps,

Regards
"He Stood in His Shoes and he Wondered
He Wondered
He Stood in his Shoes and He Wondered."
Endymion

Postby Guest » Wed Feb 12, 2003 7:47 pm